Candidates Endorsed by Florida Rising
and Supported by New Florida Vision PAC

Search for our endorsements by County below


Angela Burns is a proud member of Delray Beach’s Newman family, with roots dating back to 1908. She is a former public-school teacher with 34 years of experience and has a long history of advocacy for Delray Beach homeowners, small businesses, and the community at large. She has served as chair of the School Advisory Council at Village Academy, as well as two terms on the Education Advisory Board, and currently serves on the Affordable Housing and Library Boards. Burns will ensure issues that are important to each community are brought to the forefront, with the community’s voice incorporated whenever making a decision.

Angela Burns
Delray Beach City Commission Seat 4

Joshua Hicks is a native North Floridian. He attended Tallahassee Community College and double majored in political and social science at Florida State University. He’s worked for the People for the American Way Foundation, the Service Employees International Union, the League of Conservation Voters, and is currently with the Colorectal Cancer Alliance. Hicks believes in fixing existing and building new infrastructure, supporting BIPOC small businesses and investing in economic development in neighborhoods left behind, and taking action to alleviate Jacksonville’s affordable housing crisis.

Joshua Hicks
Jacksonville City Council At Large Group 2

John Phillips is a consumer and civil rights advocate, legal commentator, and Attorney. He’s been lead counsel in numerous nationally reported cases including when he successfully represented Lucy McBath and Ron Davis after the shooting of Jordan Davis in Jacksonville. Locally, Mr. Phillips has supported and helped draft proposals to address the affordable housing crisis, ensure police accountability, to protect voting rights and democracy.

John Phillips
Jacksonville City Council District 7

Tyrona Clark-Murray was born, raised, and educated in Jacksonville, Florida. She earned a Bachelor Degree in English Literature from Florida A&M University. After serving in the US Army, she earned a Master Degree in Education from the University of North Florida. Her advocacy work as a member of the Northwest Citizens Planning and Advisory Committee (NWCPAC) led to her running for City Council District 9 in the 2022 Special Election, winning with a record setting 53% of the vote. Murray has worked to bridge the divide between local government and neighborhoods.

Tyrona Clark-Murray
Jacksonville City Council District 9

Rahman Johnson was born and raised in Jacksonville. He holds degrees from Edward Waters University, Seton Hall University, and is currently a PhD candidate at Jackson State University. He was appointed by the City Council to the Jacksonville Civil Rights Task Force and the Downtown Development Authority LaVilla Gateway Project Steering Committee. With 25 years of media experience, Johnson works as a journalism professor at Edward Walters University and hosts The Rahman Experience podcast. His decisions in office will be guided by environmental and economic justice.

Rahman Johnson
Jacksonville City Council District 14

Dr. Sonja Brookins is a proud Tampa native. She is a first generation college graduate of Texas Chiropractic College and earned a Master of Education in Counseling from Prairie View A&M University in Texas. Dr. Brookins has always been an active member of the community and held a variety of leadership positions throughout her career including serving as a Hillsborough County Children’s Services Advisory Board member, a union representative for classroom teachers, and a member of the Sierra Club. She has remained a strong community advocate in the eradication of injustice, as well as in encouraging everyone to get involved in caring for our environment,becoming advocates to ensure the improvement of our society.

Sonja Brookins
Tampa City Council, District 1

Robin Lockett is a native of Tampa. She attended Hillsborough Community College and is a member of Bible-Based Fellowship Church of Temple Terrace. Her past experience includes being Regional Director for FAIR Districts, NAACP Political Chair for Hillsborough County, and President of the Hillsborough County Democratic Black Caucus. Lockett currently serves on the board for the Tampa Hillsborough Action Plan (THAP) and is dedicated to the empowerment of our communities through education. She will continue to organize, bringing community back to politics.

Robin Lockett
Tampa City Council, District 2

Lynn Hurtak was born in Tampa. After earning a master’s degree from the University of Florida, she worked as a teacher at Idylwild Elementary School in Gainesville and also served as the school’s union representative. She currently serves as the at-large District 3 Tampa City Councilwoman, taking a primary role in fighting against the “toilet-to-tap” PURE water reuse plan and working with both the city budget and Community Redevelopment districts to substantially increase funding for affordable housing. Hurtak has been a vocal advocate for policies and initiatives that address systemic inequalities and promote equity for Black and Brown communities.

Lynn Hurtak
Tampa City Council, District 3

Orlando Gudes is a Tampa native. He attended Bethune-Cookman University, Saint Leo University, and National Louis University. After serving with the Tampa Police Department for over 26 years, he’s been an advocate against bureaucracy for the sake of fellow officers and the residents in the city. Gudes has served on the Charter Review Board, the East Tampa Community Revitalization Partnership CAC, Hillsborough County Human Relations Board. He is the Tampa City Council Member representing District 5. He’s spoken out on every issue concerning Black and brown residents of Tampa and will continue to do so once re-elected.

Orlando Gudes
Tampa City Council, District 5